Cue the Charlie Brown Music

12 Mar

So, today I had a major Charlie Brown moment. Like when he tries to kick the football and that mean little girl snatches it out of the way and he TOTALLY BUSTS IT and she points and laughs. That biddy. I had considered keeping my pitiful humiliating moment to myself, but I mean, it’s this kind of crap that makes great blogging fodder. So here we go.

So, of course, since I blogged yesterday about how great everything is going getting ready for Ecuador, naturally the Universe decided to kick me in the teeth today. I woke up in the middle of the night feeling that crappy way you feel before you get sick. Headache, feverish, swollen, sore lymph nodes in my throat, you know, all that goodness. Oh, and did I mention I leave the country in 3 days? GREAT. I’m freaking out and popping echinacea and vitamin C.

To make matters worse, I had to drag my busted butt out of bed and go to shoot this photo/audio story I’m trying to make some progress on before I leave. And since I already feel bad, things naturally went REALLY REALLY WRONG. First, I get out to where I’m recording, which is this little beachside bar/historic Miami spot. It’s a strange place, but a good place for shooting. And I’m trying to record my audio, and I can’t get the audio recorder to work. Even though I spent an hour the night before testing it and making sure it works. OF COURSE.

I put the audio recorder away and decide to get some photos, so the trip won’t be a total loss. I go get the camera and have a seat on one of the picnic benches scattered around so I can gather my wits, adjust my camera settings, etc. After doing so, I get up, only to realize that my pants have some strange substance on them. Which ends up being, get this, WET. PAINT. Like, wet cream-colored paint ALL OVER THE BACK OF MY PANTS. Oh and did I mention that after it happened one of the employees started laughing and calling other employees over to look? Oh and did I also mention that only moments after this a ridiculously attractive cyclist rolled up and stopped to chat? Yep. TRUE LIFE.

So if anyone has any suggestions for getting paint out of my favorite pair of jeans, do share. I’ll just be in bed with the covers pulled over my head, popping vitamins and feeling like this: 

-M

2 Responses to “Cue the Charlie Brown Music”

  1. lynn morrow March 12, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    Sweetie, I know tomorrow will be a better day. You know
    Murphy’s law! I do hope you will feel better tomorrow. About the paint on the pants> If it is water base paint soak it in water and scrub!> If it is oil base paint you will need a solvent of paint thinner or Coal Oil or Turpentine. Ukkkkkk Ukkk I hope it comes out. Soak, Soak, Soak!

  2. Dad March 13, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    Wow and I thought you were going to wait for your trip for some adventure but you found it in your own backyard. Sorry no advice for the jeans but it is a good story. Hope you are feeling better and can fully enjoy your trip oh and you might want to invest in some wet paint signs.

Leave a Reply

