That’ll be $350

21 Feb

So one of the joys of living 22 hours away from our fathers, stepfathers, uncles, random male friends, etc, has been getting to do things like install shelves (see this post), talk to mechanics about brakes and belts, and make trips to our local Home Depot. And as of last week, we can add amateur plumbing to the list.

See, our toilet runs. Like, a lot. And it’s really, really annoying. When we first moved in, my mother mentioned we needed a new float in the tank. So we finally decided to fix it, and off we went to the  Home Depot where we purchase an all-purpose toilet repair kit. Only after we got it home and unfolded the directions did I think this might be a little bit over our heads. There were about 35 steps listed and numerous small, unidentifiable plastic parts.

But I mean, if some man with plumber’s butt can do it, so can we, right? Eeerrr…..right.

So Shannon documented the event with photos while I practiced my best plumber impression, low riding pants and all. Many confused and questionable moments later, after much giggling and silliness, I emerged from the bathroom floor damp and victorious. Only to find out that the float was not the problem. The stupid thing still runs. OF COURSE. It’s like it’s mocking me. Probably because it is. And our landlady is somewhere laughing maniacally.

-Megan

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Responses to “That’ll be $350”

  1. Doc Montgomery February 21, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    DIY projects do NOT include plumbing! I learned that the hard way on my 2nd house, in Columbia, Mo. I successfully executed hanging wallpaper (grasscloth), laying tile to form a beautiful countertop in the kitchen, and something I lived, plastering. I watched the $100/hour drunken plasterer that I hired to do one wall, then tried it myself. I did it better than he did! Then to the new kitchen, plumbing. Sandy (a woman who helped me with the other stuff) and I worked for a full day trying to put in a kitchen sink. Finally, we called the plumber. Because he had the right tools (including smarts for plumbing!), he had it done and done well in less than an hour! Sometimes the cheapest solution is to hire a Union plumber!

  2. Gloria February 21, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    Hmmm…nothing to say. No cracks about plumber’s crack. Love the pics!!!

  3. lynn morrow February 21, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    All of this will make you stronger women!!!

  4. Shannon's Mom February 22, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    Nice job ladies. Glad you knew enough to have Shannon on the camera and Megan on the wrench.

Leave a Reply

