Finally Finished!

18 Nov

football video thumbnail

Guess what everyone! I’ve finally finished my first video project! Hooray!

Our assignment was called “Video Postcards” and they are meant to illustrate an iconic place or an element of life in Miami using only video and the ambient sound in the location. Our topics ranged from the cigar shops in Little Havana to Wall’s Ice Cream Parlor, which has been around for decades. As you know Shannon is covering the Coconut Grove Farmer’s Market and my topic was high school football.

I went to a few games, got heckled by some silly high school boys, saw some great football and tried to capture the atmosphere, sights and sounds of a high school football game.

So here’s the finished piece, for your viewing pleasure! Check it out and let me know what you think in the comments!
(Be gentle with me, it’s my first video and I have delicate little feelings)

Friday Night Lights video

Love,

Megan

9 Responses to “Finally Finished!”

  1. Jacob B November 18, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    I really liked it! The colors were pretty good all throughout and the sound was pretty crisp. I LOVED the shot at about 1:01 of the players sitting on the bench and then the ref taking the ball on the field. Wonderful!

    My only criticisms are these:
    The first three shots are almost the same thing, but just zoomed in a little more each time (at least to me anyways) to me it just looked like a jumpcut.

    And when the buzzer goes off after the clock ticking down, I wish it had been a tad louder.

    Keep it up!

  2. Louise Montgomery November 18, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

    Looks professional to me! Some of the close-up shots were great — the little (cheerleader) girl’s fingernails from behind, the band (I didn’t get any ambient sound there), the cheerleader tying the other’s hair bow, the football just before being hiked….several things. And the crowd shots seemed to me to look as they should. I’d be curious about what Rich says about it. When will we get to see Shannon’s postcard?

    • moveovermiami November 18, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

      Thank you! Rich liked it as well, said it was a nice story. He’s the one that has final approval on when our pieces are finished, so we keep working on them until he says they’re good enough!
      Shannon is working on her final edits as well, so hers will be forthcoming soon!

  3. Megan's Dad November 19, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    WOW! Great shots. You did a great job. Must have been a sweet camera too the finished product looks professional grade. Love ya

  4. Tom Hapgood November 19, 2010 at 9:42 am #

    Megan – the HD footage looks really good. The only bit of advice I’d give is to get some close-ups and extreme close-ups. The sizzing hamburgers on the grill, the texture of the football, a sweaty face, etc. Then maybe some establishing/far-away shots such as from the corner of the parking lot looking back towards the stadium. Otherwise, looks good!

  5. Shannon's Mama November 20, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    Wow! Great job Megan.

  6. Stan November 21, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    I’m a little slow in catching up with 2 weeks worth of e-mail. That was really awesome! You managed to capture some classic moments, Great Job!

  7. moveovermiami November 23, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    Thanks for the kind words everyone! I appreciate it!

  8. kennie anne November 27, 2010 at 6:42 pm #

    Love your video and the idea behind it……You are amazing. Keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

