Web Wonders

12 Nov

Hey everyone!

I know I promised video soon and Shannon promised an Arkansas post but we are SO TOTALLY SWAMPED. Also, none of those videos are finished just yet, although some of them are getting very very close. And in addition to  working on four video projects, we have our final web project which happens to be a portfolio, so it has to be crazy good, and a final paper. Whew! No time for fun when you’re in grad school…bummer.

But I wanted to share one of our recent web design projects with you. We had to design a photo gallery to showcase some of our photos from an event or trip. Now, i know these pages may seem simple, but trust me, it is so not easy for us to do web coding. We had some help from our fabulous programmer friend here, otherwise we probably would have never made it!

So here they are! Mine can be found at this link and Shannon’s can be seen here!

Let us know what you think in the comments!
-Megan

2 Responses to “Web Wonders”

  1. Megan's Dad November 13, 2010 at 12:30 am #

    Looks great, really like the shot of the candles

  2. Louise Montgomery November 13, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    My usual: more, more more. Megan’s black background works, though this may be the only applicatoon ever that I liked with a static black background. I desperately wanted words, either spoken or written, to tell the story. Yes, the photos do, but not clearly. A few words, some music, a full-blown multi-media story 🙂

    Shannon: Great photos, though boring when all are the same size. Variation, please. And try to make the captions a bit spicier. I like your type and colors; they work for me.

    Great work in each of them, and from my limited web/publixhing experience, I appreciate how much time such a display takes.

    As to time to play: you had that when you were kids. Now, grad school and “a job,” don’t expect much time to play. But, make sure you enjoy each and every second of free time. Romp with Maddie, make silly photos, enjoy that wild city you’re in. And relish trips home 🙂

    I miss you kids. I’m at the National Fire Academy; this weekend, for the first time in my 25 years of coming here, I chose to stay back in the dorm for the weekend…resting and doing my exercises! From the computer lab I’ll go to Rec to get a bicycle, visit the thrift shop across the street (to get a racy novel), bike in the Cacoctin Mountains a bit. The weather is sunshiney, cool and wonderful — except my allergies are rampant.

Leave a Reply

