Friday Night Lights

11 Sep

Hey Everyone!

So last night I went to my FIRST EVER high school football game! I feel like I’ve now (at 23) completed my high school experience.

Here’s the story: Megan and I were assigned our first solo video projects this week–video postcards. We were all given specific events or locations around Miami to film and edit into three-minute pieces. The trick was, we weren’t able to use any A-roll. No interviews or talking to people, just images of the event and the natural noises of the space. Megan’s assignment was to cover the high school football game between Belen-Jesuit and Columbus–A MAJOR RIVALRY–so of course I was totally on board to grab my camera and join in the excitement!

As expected, the whole thing, played at the FIU stadium, was a bit over-the-top but I had so much fun! Tailgating for the big game started hours before kickoff and face painting, cheering and dancing were embraced by all. I found myself wanting to join in with the high school juniors and seniors as they cheered their teams on to victory, even thought I didn’t really have a clue who these teams were.  Thankfully, I restrained myself.  Columbus stomped Belen, as was predicted, with a final score of 35-16. (Better luck next year, Belen!) I think  Megan got some really great footage at the game.  She almost got smooshed a few times by some giant footballers, but Megan’s tiny and fast and was able to successfully avoid disaster. I think she was even willing to sacrifice herself to protect the camera. What a trooper! Hopefully you we will be seeing her completed masterpiece here soon!

But for now, here are a few photos from the big event:

Aren't they sweet? I want to paint my face for the big game too!

I don't know this lady, but she sure likes to shoot high school football. No guys, I'm just kidding. That's Megan.

Who knows, maybe these two kids could have led Belen to victory if given the chance...

Put me in, Coach. I'm ready to play.

Huddle up boys!

And, best of all, I didn’t have to actually get in-the-mix with these crazy students–we used our fancy new press passes to shoot everything from the sidelines! Ah, another exciting adventure in South Florida.

With love from Miami,

Shannon

2 Responses to “Friday Night Lights”

  1. Shannon's Mama September 12, 2010 at 7:34 am #

    Good stuff Shan! Looking forward to Megan’s ‘foosball’ footage.

  2. Megan September 12, 2010 at 7:38 am #

    I’m pretty sure that sassy face I’m wearing in that photo is me saying: HEY, STOP WALKING THROUGH MY SHOT!

Leave a Reply

